enter the dragon.

I guess I’ve really been too busy with my final projects and external projects to update this lovely space.
I really do have a lot to share though, so now that I’m a little less busy, I’m gonna try to recap my last few months. haha. bear with me.

There was this Jeans customization competition in April. One of my fellow school mates Josiah, who’s a fashion design major asked if I would be interested to take part with him. I said yes and then that’s when the fun began! Thought I’d post some process photos to show you how we did our customization. Oh, Jo just won the Triumph Singapore Competition. He’s featured in the latest NYLON SG magazine, so do check it out šŸ˜‰

The theme was Fashion Upclose. Both of us are Singaporeans, so we decided to interpret it as detailed information about our country. We are greatly inspired by nostalgia and our childhood memories in Singapore. I actually did some new designs for this and later used it for my swatch book. I created prints using motifs of rice dumplings, iced gem sweets, peng kueh, and animal playgrounds.

We chose to use bleaching and silkscreen, plus some applique and studding. the Punk elements infused in the jeans were really there more as an expression of the punk spirit ā€” fighting for what we believe in: Singaporean design; rebelling against those who think that Singaporean Design isn’t gonna make it.
Below is my Animal Pla(y)net design on my screen, under yellow light. this was right after exposure, when we had to wash out the loose emulsion and let the design appear. this is one of my favourite moments in screen printing, cos that’s when the design appears, and you either feel happy or sad ( if the design doesn’t show up due to some weird reason). another set of emotions also arise when you start printing. haha


that’s me preparing to print on the other side of the jeans front. this side has the edibles: iced gem biscuits, peng kueh and rice dumplings.

we had to print on both sides. the back featured playgrounds. Above: the back of jeans already silkscreen with a placement of un-Appliqued dragon heads.

Here’s Jo doing an awesome job spray bleaching our entire pair of jeans. we wanted a soft wash of bleach, almost like ombre dip dye, except with bleach. anyways, if anyone intends to do bleaching, pls rem to wear a protective layer, lest you bleach your own lovely clothes. and do rem to wash your bleached item so that it stops bleaching. haha. some pple add vinegar to stop the process as well.

Our bleached + silkscreened jeans drying…slowly…

the dragon heads stuffed. i actually painted on the white pleather to get that coral colour.
so these would go on the back pockets of the jeans. love them squishy things haha.

Pics below are by Suntec City Mall. from the event itself. We won Second Runner up so woohoo!

Tomas modelling our jeans. Front

Back.

From Left: Ist runner up, Winner, and us: Second Runner Ups. woot. the winner is also from LASALLE. yay.

Oh! we customised our own jeans as well haha.

Hightlight of the night: Nat Ho was one of the judges and he said he really liked our jeans! Thanks Nat! and all our supporters!

All three pairs of jeans are now being exhibited in Suntec City Mall. need to find out where.. hmm
ok I guess I’m done talking about jeans. Next post… maybe it’ll be about my final project or my Transmission Project. hoho.
nites.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

